The Packed Lunch

Healer man
Holy man
Preacher man
Teacher man
Crowds gather
Caught up in wonder
Hang on his every word
…..
Time passes
Hunger rises
Teacher man tells his
Helpers to feed us
“What with? There’re too many!”
“What’ve you got?”
…..
One of his helpers
Sees me and calls out
“What’s in your bag?
What’ve you got?”
Echoing words of the Master
…..
Where can I run to?
Nowhere to hide…
Scared of the Teacher ‘cos
Know what’s inside…
…..
All that I’ve got is some
Stale bread and fishes
No-one’d want it
Don’t want to show it to
Teacher man
Preacher man
Holy man
Healer man
…..
He turns and looks at me
Eyes boring into me
I know that he knows
Knows what’s inside
…..
Stale and not enough
…..
Held by his eyes
Drawn by his gaze
Trembling with fear
Wordlessly
Holding my hands out
Stale and not enough
I give
Him
My All
…..
Healer man
Holy man
Preacher man
Teacher man
Silently
Wordlessly
Takes all I have
Takes all I am
…..
At last he speaks
Blesses my
All
Blessed by the Master
No longer inadequate
No longer stale
By the power of his Word
…..
He
Takes all I have
Takes all I am
Takes it and breaks it
Starts to distribute it
Makes it sufficient to
Feed all who hunger
With plenty to spare
…..
Teacher man
Preacher man
Holy man
Healer man

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

